About the Charter

Objective

Human capital is one of the most important assets of an enterprise. Employers who adopt employee-oriented good human resource management measures can help boost staff morale and enhance their employees’ sense of belonging. These measures are most effective in encouraging employees to make greater contribution and commitment and hence laying a solid foundation for business growth. In the current trend that people cherish work-family balance, adopting family-friendly employment practices is also of crucial importance in good human resource management. The adoption of family-friendly employment practices allows the employees to work wholeheartedly, enhances their productivity and work performance. In addition, it can also foster a sense of belonging of the employees and help build a positive image of the enterprise, leading to a win-win situation for employers and employees.

To continue cultivating the good human resource management culture promoted by the first Good Employer Charter and promoting good human resource management among enterprises, the Good Employer Charter 2020 features the theme of “Family-friendly Good Employer”. Employers are encouraged to empathically consider the family roles of their employees and adopt family-friendly employment practices which can help the employees to balance the responsibilities of their work and family.

The objective of the Good Employer Charter 2020 is to continuously encourage employers of different trades and scale (including small and medium enterprises) to adopt employee-oriented and progressive good human resource management practices. Employers should also formulate family-friendly employment policies by assessing different family responsibilities borne by their employees and help them fulfil their work and family needs simultaneously to create a family-friendly harmonious workplace.

Eligibility

All private organisations, public bodies (excluding government bureaux and departments), employer associations / trade unions / professional bodies, and non-government organisations / social enterprises / educational institutions in Hong Kong are eligible to participate. Participating organisations are required to provide copy of relevant documents for authentication (e.g. Business Registration Certificate, Certificate of Incorporation or other documents).

To be the signatories of the Good Employer Charter 2020, participating organisations are required to provide all the required information, actively implement good human resource management practices, strive to maintain good employer-employee relationship, and comply with relevant labour legislation (e.g. the Employment Ordinance and the Occupational Safety and Health Ordinance, etc.). Also, if participating organisations intend to use the newly added “Family-friendly Good Employer” logo, they should submit relevant information on the details and effectiveness of the adopted family-friendly employment practices.

The Organiser reserves the right to determine the eligibility of all participants.

Content of the Charter

Participants of the Charter pledge to be an employee-oriented employer and has adopted good human resource management practices relevant to the following aspects:

  Employment practices to care for employees
  Practices to promote work-family / work-life balance
  Employee benefits that are better than statutory requirements
  Good communication with employees or their organisation(s)

If participating organisations intend to use the newly added “Family-friendly Good Employer” logo, they should elaborate three most effective family-friendly employment practices adopted by the Organisation on a separate sheet (must include the details of the practices, implementation period, number of employees benefited and how the policies assisted the employees in discharging their family responsibilities) with NOT more than 200 words for each practice. The additional information will be considered as an important factor in deciding whether the Organisation can use the extra “Family-friendly Good Employer” logo.

Fee

No participation fee is required

Why do you need to join?

Organisations accredited by the Panel of Judges will-

  be awarded the Certificate of the Good Employer Charter 2020;
  be authorised to use the charter logo in their letterheads, publications and promotional materials for two years; and
  be listed in the signatory list of the Good Employer Charter 2020 on the thematic website for public access.

Besides,

  Apart from the charter logo, organisations can also be authorised to use the newly added “Family-friendly Good Employer” logo for two years if the Panel of Judges considers they have been effectively promoting family-friendly employment culture after reviewing the additional information they submitted.

Accredited organisations may be invited to share their successful experience on adopting good human resource management and family-friendly employment practices at newspaper, publications or promotional activities organised by the Labour Department.

Panel of Judges

Professor Carlos Lo
Director, Centre for Business Sustainability, Business School of the Chinese University of Hong Kong
Department Head, Department of Government and Public Administration of the Chinese University of Hong Kong
Mr Cheung Sing hung, BBS
Member, Labour Advisory Board
Mr Charles Chan Yiu Kwong
Member, Labour Advisory Board
Ms Margaret Cheng Wai Ching
President, Hong Kong Institute of Human Resource Management
Mr Raymond Liang Lok Man
Assistant Commissioner, Labour Department

Time Schedule

Kick-off Ceremony: 29 November 2019
Commencement: 1 December 2019
Deadline for Enrolment: 31 March 2020
Announcement of Results: The third quarter of 2020

How to Apply

Please complete the enrolment form and attach additional information as appropriate and return it to the Labour Department on or before 31 March 2020 by one of the following means. Late application will not be accepted:

By mail: Workplace Consultation Promotion Division, Labour Department
Room 520, 5/F, Mongkok Government Offices, 30 Luen Wan Street, Mongkok, Kowloon
By email: gec@labour.gov.hk
By fax: 2425 4132

Download Enrolment Form

Introduction and Enrolment Form of Good Employer Charter 2020

Fillable Version
(Participating organisations can submit the completed form together with copy of relevant documents for authentication to the Labour Department through email direct)

Printable Version

Past Good Employer Charter

Good Employer Charter 2018

关于约章

目的

人力资源是企业其中一项重要的资产,雇主采纳以雇员为本的良好人事管理方法,有助激励员工士气、提升他们对企业的向心力,有效引导他们对企业作出更多贡献和承担,为企业的发展奠定稳固的基础。而在现今讲求工作和家庭生活平衡的趋势下,采纳家庭友善雇佣措施是良好人事管理重要的一环。实施家庭友善雇佣措施除可让雇员全心工作,提升他们的工作表现及生产力,更可增加雇员对公司的归属感,协助公司建立正面形象,达致劳资双赢。

承接上届《好雇主约章》提倡的良好人事管理文化及继续推动企业采纳良好人事管理,今届的《好雇主约章》2020以「『友』『家』好雇主」为主题,重点鼓励雇主实施家庭友善雇佣措施,设身处地考虑雇员需担任的家庭岗位,让雇员能兼顾工作及履行家庭责任。

《好雇主约章》2020旨在持续推动各行各业及不同规模(包括中小型企业)的雇主,采纳以雇员为本及与时并进的良好人事管理措施,并因应雇员的不同家庭责任而订立合适的家庭友善雇佣政策,协助雇员同时兼顾工作与家庭,共同缔造家庭友善的和谐工作间。

参与资格

凡本港私营机构、公营机构(不包括政府政策局及部门)、雇主商会 / 工会 / 专业团体、及非政府机构 / 社会企业 / 教育机构均可参与。参与机构须提供相关证明文件副本(如商业登记证、公司注册证或其他证明),以供核实身份。

如欲成为《好雇主约章》2020签署机构,参与机构须提交所需的全部资料、积极推行良好人事管理措施、致力维持良好劳资关系,及遵守相关的劳工法例(例如《雇佣条例》及《职业安全及健康条例》等)。此外,如参与机构欲使用新增的「『友』『家』好雇主」标志,亦需提交实施家庭友善雇佣措施的详情及成效的相关资料。

主办机构有权决定有关机构的参加资格。

约章内容

参与机构须按约章承诺成为以雇员为本的雇主,并已经实施以下范畴内的良好人事管理措施︰

  关爱雇员的雇佣措施
  促进工作与家庭 / 个人生活平衡的措施
  优于法例的雇员福利
  与雇员或其组织有良好沟通

如参与机构欲使用新增的「『友』『家』好雇主」标志,须阐述三项已实施并最有效的家庭友善雇佣措施(必须包括措施的内容推行时间受惠雇员人数如何透过措施协助雇员履行家庭责任),每项措施以200字为限。有关资料将被视作考虑机构能否使用额外的「『友』『家』好雇主」标志的重要因素。

费用

全免

为何要参加?

获评审团确认为合资格机构可︰

  获颁发参与《好雇主约章》2020证书;
  获授权于其机构的信纸、刊物和宣传品内使用约章标志,为期两年;及
  透过《好雇主约章》2020主题网页列出机构名称,供公众阅览。

此外,

  如评审团审视机构提交的附加资料后确认其有效推动家庭友善工作文化,除约章标志外,更可获授权使用新增的「『友』『家』好雇主」标志,为期两年。

合资格机构亦有机会被邀在报章、刊物或劳工处举办的宣传推广活动,分享实施良好人事管理及家庭友善雇佣措施心得。

评审团

卢永鸿教授
香港中文大学商学院商业可持续发展中心主任
香港中文大学政治与行政学系系主任
张成雄先生, BBS
劳工顾问委员会委员
陈耀光先生
劳工顾问委员会委员
郑惠贞女士
香港人力资源管理学会会长
梁乐文先生
劳工处助理处长

计划时间表

起动礼︰ 2019年11月29日
开展日期︰ 2019年12月1日
截止报名日期︰ 2020年3月31日
结果公布︰ 2020年第三季

参加办法

请将填妥的参加表格连同按需要附加的补充资料,于2020年3 月31日或之前循下列其中一种途径交回劳工处,所有逾期递交的申请概不受理︰

邮寄︰ 劳工处劳资协商促进科
九龙旺角联运街30号旺角政府合署5楼520室
电邮︰ gec@labour.gov.hk
传真︰ 2425 4132

下载参加表格

《好雇主约章》2020简介及参加表格

可输入资料版
(供参与机构于输入资料后连同相关证明文件副本一并以电邮形式递交至劳工处)

列印版

过往的《好雇主约章》

《好雇主约章》2018